2011 Presidential Election: Tribunal dismisses CPC petition claiming it lacked merit


An Electoral Petition Tribunal sitting in the Federal Capital Territory in Abuja has dismissed a petition brought before it by CPC, challenging the victory  of President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan   in the last April’s general election.

In the last few minutes, the Election Tribunal ruled in favour of the ruling PDP as it threw out the CPC’s petition challenging the President’s electoral victory for lack of merit.

The Presidential Election Tribunal had set  November 1, 2011, as judgement day in the petition filed by the Congress for Progressive Change (CPC) challenging the election of President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, as winner of the April Presidential election.

The Tribunal Chaired by Justice Kumai Akaah had earlier  set 9.am Tuesday morning for the delivery of the judgement after it  drew the curtains on the hearing on October 20 this year.

The CPC had  for the nullification of results in 20 states where it alleged electoral irregularities. The states are Lagos, Bayelsa, Kaduna, Sokoto, Nasarawa, Kwara, Adamawa, Abia, Akwa-Ibom, Enugu, Cross River, Rivers, Ebonyi, Bayelsa, Delta, Imo, Anambra, Benue, Plateau states and the FCT.

The party  also asked the Tribunal to declare its candidate, Major General Muhammadu Buhari winner of the election.

INEC had declared Jonathan winner of the April 16, 2011 Presidential election with 22,495,187 votes, defeating Muhammadu Buhari who polled 12, 214, 853 votes.