Lagos LG elections: ACN Sweeps 57 Councils Chairmanship Seats


It has emerged that Action Congress of Nigeria(ACN) has swept all the 57 local government Chairmancship seats in the just concluded LG eletion in Lagos State.

Therefore, all Action Congress of Nigeria, (ACN) chairmanship candidates have come on top as winners of the LG elections amid floods of protests as all the results were made available. The results were declared on Monday.

Last Saturday, October 22, 2011 Local Government election  spread consist of 20 Local Government Areas and 37 Local Council Development Areas, LCD, with all declared  barely 48 hours after the conclusion of the exercise.

According to the results which were, however, declared amidst protests, 355 councillorship candidates of ACN won the seats in the 376 wards, the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP councillorship candidates won 16 seats, Congress for Progress Change, CPC won two seats while ward H in Mushin Local Government Area was declared inconclusive.

The chairman of the Lagos State Independent Electoral Commission, LASIEC Justice Abdulfatai Adeyinka (rtd) who announced the results at a late evening media briefing at the commission’s secretariat, said his commission could not announce the results earlier because it needed to get its figures right.

He said though he was the chief electoral officer of the state, the announcement of the results was the duty of the returning officers at the various council areas. Section 5(1)-(8) of the LASIEC law states that election results can only be announced at the polling units, Ward collation centre and the local government areas.

When asked about the protest by the PDP supporters over discrepancies against LASIEC officials involved in the exercise especially in Ikoyi Obalende and Badagry council areas, LASIEC boss said: “an electoral Tribunal has been set up and any aggrieved parties should go to election tribunal for the determination of their legal right.”

Gov. Babatunde Fashola at Ward 3G, State Senior Grammar School in Surulere, during the election.