World Cup 2010: Lagerback submits Nigeria 30-team member list… Mikel, Kanu inclusive

KANU Nwankwo

Super Eagles Manager, Lars Lagerback has announced a -30 member dream team for the coming World Cup.

He presented the team for the nation Monday evening at a Press Conference in Abuja, Nigeria’s Capital .

England-based stars Mikel John Obi and veteran Nwankwo Kanu are among the 30-man preliminary squad for next month’s World Cup in South Africa.


Mikel is nursing a knee injury that needed surgery recently while speculations have surrounded Kanu’s international future as he has struggled to pin a regular shirt at English club Portsmouth.

Two players from the domestic league, Lobi Stars defender Terna Suswan and Bayelsa United goalkeeper Bassey Akpan were also included in the squad.

Nigeria coach Lars Lagerback is optimistic he will get his final 23 before the end of the month.

The squad is expected to be trimmed to a final list of 23 players for the World Cup by the end of the month.

John Mikel Obi
John Mikel Obi

Nigeria’s Super Eagles’ are drawn in Group B along with Argentina, Greece and South Korea at the World Cup, which kicks off on June 11.

Nigeria’s 30-man preliminary squad for the World Cup in South Africa:_

Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Hapoel Tel Aviv/ISR), Dele Aiyenugba(Bnei Yehuda/ISR), Austin Ejide (Hapoel Petah Tikva/ISR), Bassey Akpan (Bayelsa United)

Defenders: Taye Taiwo (Olympique Marseille/FRA), Elderson Echiejile (Rennes/FRA), Chidi Odiah (CSKA Moscow/RUS), Onyekachi Apam (OG Nice/FRA), Joseph Yobo (Everton/ENG), Daniel Shittu (Bolton Wanderers/ENG), Ayodele Adeleye (Sparta Rotterdam/NED), Rabiu Afolabi (SV Salzburg/AUS) and Terna Suswan (Lobi Stars)

Midfielders: Kalu Uche (Almeria/SPA), Dickson Etuhu (Fulham/ENG), Mikel Obi (Chelsea/ENG), Sani Kaita (Alaniya/RUS), Haruna Lukman (AS Monaco/FRA), Yusuf Ayila (Dynamo Kiev/UKR)

Strikers: Yakubu Aiyegbeni, Victor Anichebe (Everton/ENG), Chinedu Obasi (TSG Hoffenheim/GER), Nwankwo Kanu, John Utaka (Portsmouth/ENG), Obafemi Martins (Wolfsburg/GER), Brown Ideye (FC Sochaux/FRA), Peter Utaka (Odense Boldklub/DEN), Ikechukwu Uche (Real Zaragoza/SPA), Obinna Nsofor (Malaga/SPA), Osaze Odemwingie (Lokomotiv Moscow/RUS)

*Watch Nigeria’s most memorable moments in pictures. Nigeria has a credible  Football history with inbuilt passion for success.